FNRLW 2022: Everything you need to know

FNRLW 2022: Everything you need to know

The FNRL Women's Premiership National Finals Series kicks off on Saturday with the Saints and Raiders set to open the 2022 season. 

Here's all you need to know ahead of the competition's inaugural year.


How many teams are in the FNRLW?

There are eleven FNRLW teams for the 2022 season – Ba Eagles, Burenitu Cowboys, Nadera Panthers, Yasawa Saints, Kainiyahawa Tigers, Sharks White, Vusu Raiders, Veiyasana Knights, Lami Steelers, USP Raiders and Police Sharks Blues with squads of more than 25 per team.

Where can I find the 2022 NRLW squads?

The finals squads will be published on Thursday morning on FNRL social media channels, fijibati.com and playrugbyleague.com.

How many rounds is the FNRLW this season?

The FNRLW is five regular-season rounds with teams to play each other once within their respective state groups (East and West).

How is the national finals series set?

The top eight teams will advance to a 3-week national final series with a 1st v 4th and 2nd v 3rd format, paired across the qualifying teams from both states. The semi-final will be held at Prince Charles Park on Saturday 27th August, 2022. The winners will square off in the grand final.

Where will the 2022 grand finale be played?

The location for the 2022 FNRLW grand final is yet to be confirmed but will be played before the men's Vodafone Cup grand final on Saturday, September 10th

Where can I buy tickets?

Real hits. Real highlights. Unreal action. Experience all the power on the field and passion in the stands as these growing rivalries become epic contests. Tickets are available at entry gates to match venues. Tickets for Adults are $10.00FJD; Kids $5.00FJD (12years -7year olds); Free Entry – Kids 6years & below.

Where can I watch the NRLW?

If you can't get to the game, broadcast partners Fiji One and Nai Lololo will show the games live across their TV channels including Livestream on FNRLTV. For international viewers, visit FNRL Facebook page or go to Fiji TV website.

How many minutes per half in the FNRLW?

The FNRLW will be played in 35-minute halves – the second season that games will be played across 70 minutes.

Is there golden point in the FNRLW?

Yes, for matches other than the grand final, in the event of a draw at the conclusion of regular time, golden point will apply, with a maximum of five minutes each way and the first team to score will win.

If neither team scores during golden point, a draw will be awarded.

In the case of a requirement for golden point in the grand final, five minutes extra time each way will be played (regardless of how many points are scored).

If, after 80 minutes, the game remains a draw, unlimited golden point will be played, with no change of ends or time limit, until a point is scored to determine the winner.

How many interchanges per side during a game?

There will be a total of 10 in regular time (with two interchanges available in the case of golden point)

Does the six-again rule apply in the FNRLW?

No, teams will be awarded a penalty instead of a six-again repeat set.

When did the FNRLW first begin? 

This year will be the first season of the FNRLW in a history-making occasion for rugby league fans and include 11 inaugural teams – that will go down history books as the pioneers of club rugby league.

Who are the reigning champions?

Come and support a FNRLW team. Cheer them on! And let’s witness the inaugural winner of the FNRLW Shield.

FNRLW Finals Series Format?


For more information, please contact FNRL on This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Pin It